parish office: 0118 908 8164
fax: 0118 932 8256


Roads & Road Safety Committee

The Roads & Road Safety Committee aims to improve the local road network and safety for users, and to promote sustainable transport.  Its work includes:

  • Providing and utilising two mobile speed data recorder units around the Parish to collect information on vehicle movements and speeds.  Ths information is used by volunteers including Parish Councillors to build up traffic profiles by location, to monitor existing levels and how these change over a period of time, and how external factors such as new development influence these. Information is made available to Thames Valley Police, Wokingham Borough Council and local Developers.

  • Carrying out weekly sessions with a Speed Indicator Device (SID) in various locations around the Parish.  Information on vehicles exceeding the limit is passed to Thames Valley Police who follow up accordingly and also carry out enforcement on roads with ongoing speeding problems.

  • Liaison with the Borough Council on local transport initiatives.

  • Projects including village gateways, improvements to the Avery Corner Car park and various road safety issues. 

  • Responsibility for 6 street lights.
The members of the Roads & Road Safety Committee are:Cllr Steve Bromley (Chairman)
Cllr Jim May (Vice Chairman)
  Cllr Steve Bowers
  Cllr Roger Marshallsay
  Cllr Richard Rampton
  Cllr Simon Weeks
  2 vacancies
Contact details for all Parish Councillors can be found by clicking here  
Roads & Road Safety Committee Minutes
can be found here